Conquer Club

recovery tactics after early setbacks

The SoC Training Academy and its Training Grounds provide basic training for new and old members looking to enhance their game strategy. "Train a Cook today, lose to a Sergeant tomorrow"

Moderator: Academy Team

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

recovery tactics after early setbacks

Postby legion of boom on Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:12 pm

Hi All,

I'm new to CC and just started playing a few games and have a question around strategy and tactics in a game when you have some very early setbacks. I'm playing a game at the moment which has prompted this although i'm interested in general if there are certain steps one should take.

In my particular game http://www.conquerclub.com/game.php?game=14645078 I actually got a reasonable deal but then got nailed with some very lucky rolling on my opponents parts in the first round and immediately felt like i was on the back foot and wondering where I go from here.

In this game I had the following thoughts about my next few moves, note: green is the one who nailed me pretty bad on the opening turn.

1) I initially consolidated myself into Western Russia and am trying to move a large stack south to hook up in Africa.
2) I was hoping Red would see how strong a start green had and wouldn't fight me too hard but he nailed my 5 and 3 stack in Russia.
3) My only hope as I see it now is to try and get a big stack together, which I sort of have, as that feels safer, and hook up with what re-reinforcements I have left and build from there. At this time the best 3's I have are in Africa :)
4) Hope the other 2 start to ignore me and focus on each other.

This is a flat rate game, I guess not just thinking about this but other games if you get of to a bad start what are the general steps one should take or is it a case of just sucking it up and moving on to the next game!?!