Conquer Club

Guide for GIMP

How to make a map. Official Handbook, Guides, Tutorials and more...

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Guide for GIMP

Postby QoH on Sat Nov 06, 2010 4:03 pm

HI all:

As I am beginning to work on a map, I was wondering if there is a guide for GIMP out there for me to use. I'm only in the drawing stages of the map, so nothing detailed needed yet. But, I was just throwing this idea out there since there may be other GIMP users as well looking for a guide to making neat maps.

COnversely, is GIMP similar enough to Photoshop that I could use the Guide to Photoshop shown here?

thanks
Major QoH

Re: Guide for GIMP

Postby sannemanrobinson on Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:11 pm

I'm not an expert in GIMP but it has a different interface than Photoshop. If you want GIMP with the Photoshop layout, use GIMPshop
Major sannemanrobinson

Postby natty dread on Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:42 am

Ok, I'm going to write a basic outline on how I make maps with GIMP. I'm not going to go into advanced stuff like texture making and stuff, just the basics...

First of all, you'll need a map of the area you're making a map of. Say, you're making a map of france, you can take a ready map of france... good souces are google maps and google in general. It's best to use a map that is of decent size - you can always resize down but upsizing much lowers quality and makes tracing harder.

Next, select the area of the map you are focusing on and crop it. Make the selection so that all the features you want to include in your map are clearly visible in it. Use rectangle selection, then go to image -> crop to selection.

Then, resize this map to the size of the large map. This is normally a maximum of 840 x 800. Go to image -> scale image. If the image is wider than it's tall, set width to 840. Otherwise, set height to 800. The other dimension is automatically scaled relative to the dimension you set.